South Somerset District Council

Minutes of an Extraordinary meeting of the South Somerset District Council held on Thursday 17 May 2018 in the Council Chamber, Council Offices, Brympton Way, Yeovil.

(7.00 pm - 7.20 pm)

Present:

Members: Councillor Mike Best (Chairman)

Councillor Tony Capozzoli (Vice-Chairman)

Clare Aparicio Paul Andy Kendall Sylvia Seal Gina Seaton Jason Baker Mike Lewis Cathy Bakewell Sarah Lindsay Peter Seib Dave Bulmer Mike Lock Garry Shortland Hayward Burt Tony Lock Angie Singleton John Clark Alan Smith Paul Maxwell Nick Colbert **David Norris** Sue Steele Sarah Dvke Graham Oakes Rob Stickland John Field Tiffany Osborne **Gerard Tucker** Nigel Gage Stephen Page Andrew Turpin Carol Goodall Ric Pallister Linda Vijeh Anna Groskop Crispin Raikes Martin Wale Peter Gubbins Wes Read William Wallace Henry Hobhouse David Recardo Nick Weeks Kaysar Hussain Jo Roundell Greene Colin Winder Val Keitch Dean Ruddle Derek Yeomans

Officers:

Alex Parmley Chief Executive
Angela Watson Monitoring Officer
Paul Fitzgerald Section 151 Officer

Clare Pestell Director (Commercial Services & Income Generation)

Martin Woods Director (Service Delivery)
Angela Cox Democratic Services Specialist

140. Apologies for Absence (Agenda Item 1)

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Marcus Barrett, Neil Bloomfield, Amanda Broom, Adam Dance, Jenny Kenton, Sue Osborne and Netta Meadows, Director.

141. Declarations of Interest (Agenda Item 2)

There were no declarations of interest made.

142. Appointment of Honorary Alderman (Agenda Item 3)

The Chairman welcomed everyone to the extraordinary meeting which had been called to consider conferring the title of Honorary Alderman on former District Councillor Patrick Palmer.

The Chairman said that Patrick had been an exceptional councillor who had worked for the District Council and represented his community for over 40 years. He then outlined his service as follows:

Patrick was elected as an independent District Councillor at a by-election in 1974 to Yeovil District Council. Over the 41 years he was a District Councillor, Patrick was a member of most of the Council's Committees, including the Policy & Resources, Finance and Land, Health Committee (Chairman), Works Committee, Planning Committee. He was elected as Vice-Chairman of the Area North Committee in 1999 and served as Chairman from 2003 to 2013. This meant he also served on the District Executive during this time and he also served on the Regulation Committee and Standards Committee. Patrick championed rural issues during his service, representing SSDC on the Parrett Drainage Board, Somerset Waterways Advisory Committee and the Somerset Water Management Partnership. He also served as a Parish Councillor for Martock for over 40 years and is a member of the Rotary Club, a Guardian of Martock Church and a member of the NFU. In November 2014, SSDC presented Patrick with an engraved pewter salver and framed certificate to commemorate his 40 years service as a District Councillor for Yeovil District Council and subsequently South Somerset District Council.

Councillor Ric Pallister, Leader of the Council then paid tribute to Patrick Palmer. He said that Patrick had been an active Councillor during his 41 year service and with his commitment as a Parish Councillor this had been more than half his lifetime.

Councillor Ric Pallister moved the recommendation that former Councillor Patrick Palmer be made an Honorary Alderman of South Somerset District Council. The recommendation was seconded by Councillor Mike Best.

The recommendation was put to the vote and was declared to be carried with 4 abstentions from Members not in the chamber at the beginning of the item. It was therefore:

RESOLVED: that in view of his eminent service to the Council, the title of Honorary Alderman be conferred on former District Councillor Patrick Palmer.

Reason: To approve the title of Honorary Alderman on a previous long-serving District Councillor.

The Chairman made a presentation to the Honorary Alderman and he made a short speech of thanks to the Council for his award.

Chairman	
Date	